When the World Stops

This was the title of an article in Time magazine (in my email) this morning.

I am out on “the Adventure Road” and will hopefully undertake a drive to my next campground today and be able to stay there two weeks.

In a time of “don’t travel”, I have chosen to travel. I am in a self-contained unit, have plenty of soap, toilet paper, cleaners and wipes (antibacterial and otherwise).

When I had to decide over a week ago, it seemed like my husband was needlessly panicking that “roads may close”. This morning I read about borders closing in Europe and serious travelers even cancelling jobs that involve traveling. There is a grieving process going on for travelers. For everyone.

But it is true that “this too shall pass.” I believe we can come out wiser on the other side of this pandemic.

One thing that it seems is being affected is the internet…because everyone stuck at home is now living ONLINE. Generally, I am an advocate of that and as I’ve been living alone on and off since January, I have found true community through Facebook LIVE content.

However, much maturity comes when we learn to entertain ourselves and when we learn to enjoy being alone.

I never thought I would enjoy solitude like I do. I had four (very noisy and active) children under six years old…”under my roof” who stayed off and on for nearly 30 years. Very soon the last one is moving out.

I guess the good news for me is that although I am a pretty extreme extrovert, I am also an artist. I’ve been called a “renaissance woman”. Here is a list of SOME of the things I have taken an interest in or learned about it at least TRIED over my lifetime:

Reading (this alone could carry you through this self-isolation period, you can go anywhere in a book)

Academic Study

Cooking

Canning

Sewing/Quilting/Embroidery

Photo of my first quilt top

Flower arranging

Writing

Photography

Paper arts

Bookmaking

Photo of my 1893 book press

Leatherwork

Journal-making

Photo of a handmade leather journal I made for my son when he graduated Naval basic training

Travel

Painting

Playing instruments (piano, ukelele, clarinet)

Camping

Biking

Hiking

Beading

Crocheting

Knitting

I think you get the idea. I could go on and on

Maybe the point is to explore. Be curious about the world around you. MANY of these things can be done in isolation.

My artist friend had a freak-out moment recently when she thought “what if they close all the art supply stores!?

Ask anyone who is an artist or crafter…trust me, they have enough supplies to share! I believe all artists might be “hoarders”. And we’re willing to share the “how to” with you. My friends are doing it online (LIVE instruction/community on Facebook 2020 Visionary Woman; men welcome to watch, too).

Even in self-quarantine, you can “get out there” and do something new.

Another thing I really love is having time for reflection. I always say that all it takes for me to be grateful is to look through my camera roll on my phone. There are so many loved ones, activities, places. Take some time while you are alone to reflect on all you’ve experienced in life. I suggest writing down some of your thoughts and feelings. This has been a very useful practice for me throughout my lifetime.

Maybe, just maybe, we will all come out on the other side of this pandemic internally RICHER than we were before. More intentional, more reflective, more grateful.

Peace & Blessings,

Melanie

Leave a comment